Important note: Screen sharing feature is available for laptop/desktop only.

Here's a step-by-step guide on how to share your screen as a guest:

  1. Use or download the latest version of Google Chrome.
  2. Follow the guest link from the host. 
  3. Join the broadcast using your Facebook profile or Google account. After selecting your preferred method, click Connect Camera.

Note: You can't join the broadcast without connecting your camera.

4. If you are joining a BeLive broadcast for the first time, you must add the Be.Live extension. You can learn how to do that here.
5. Finally, click Share Screen from the studio.

3 Sharing Options

Option 1 - Share entire desktop/laptop screen

This option will bring everything you currently see on your screen (including the status bar, dock panel, pop-up notifications that will appear on your screen, etc.). This said, we suggest you enable “do not disturb” on your device.

Option 2 - Share an application window

  • On Mac, you need to have the application open, but not full screen. You will see all active applications available for sharing. This can be your browser, Keynote presentation, or any other open app.
  • For Windows devices, the application window has to be open and not minimized to the Dock panel. Otherwise, it will not be available for broadcasting.

Here is an article on how to share your presentation.

Option 3 - Share a Chrome tab

If you select this option, you will see all tabs currently open in the Chrome window:

Select the best option for you and click Share.


The share screen window will appear in the staging area and the host moves it to the broadcast.

Note: Only the host can add your screen to the broadcast. However, you still can remove it from the stream if you want to stop sharing your screen. 

When you go live with a connected camera, you will be unmuted by default. If you want to mute yourself, click the mute icon on the camera window so there will be no sound from your mic while the host shows your screen:

The gear icon will also allow you to check your camera & mic settings:

How do I know if my screen is already on the broadcast?

When the host displays your screen to the broadcast, you will see it in the broadcast section/big screen:

Basic Troubleshooting

If you're experiencing problems with screen sharing, reinstall the Be.Live extension on Chrome. 

Other Sources

Got any questions or feedback? Contact our Support Team via chat or email us directly at team@belive.tv.

Did this answer your question?